A TMC parliamentary delegation is going to visit the EC over Saket Gokhale’s arrest for RP Act violations

Five TMC parliamentary members are visiting the Election Commission of India on Monday to talk about Saket Gokhale’s arrest and alleged violation of the Representation of the People Act.

There will be a delegation composed of Lok Sabha members Saugata Roy and Kalyan Banerjee, as well as Rajya Sabha members Sukhendu Sekhar Ray, Mausam Noor and Derek O’Brien, according to the party.

In an earlier memorandum, the TMC requested the Election Commission to investigate the action taken by the Gujarat Police against Gokhale and to end all the alleged harassment he had been subjected to.

In its complaint, the TMC claims that Gokhale was charged with promoting enmity between classes in connection with an election under section 125 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

The arrest of Gokhale was prompted by a tweet on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Morbi following a bridge collapse there, following which the Press Information Bureau issued a ‘fact check’ claiming the information was false.

The Gujarat Police arrested Gokhale from Jaipur, Rajasthan, on December 6 without informing the Rajasthan Police, the TMC claimed. Following his arrest, he was taken to Ahmedabad, where a court granted him bail, only to be rearrested hours later.

In the second case, Gokhale was later released on bail on December 9.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button