In the FIFA World Cup 2022 Final, Kylian Mbappe was named the golden boot winner

It was Kylian Mbappe who was awarded the Golden Boot for being the top scorer at the Qatar 2022 World Cup.

Ahead of the final, Lionel Messi held the lead with five goals and six games played, followed by Kylian Mbappe with the same number of goals. His scintillating hattrick, however, propelled him to the top of the standings with a tally of eight goals.

During the 1982 World Cup in Spain, the Golden Boot trophy for the top scorer was awarded for the first time.

In the final competition, the Golden Boot is awarded to the player who has scored the most goals. Two or more players may score the same number of goals, but the number of assists (determined by the FIFA Technical Study Group) will determine the winner.

After taking into account the number of assists, the player who played fewer minutes will be ranked higher than the player who played more minutes.

Read |What are Fifa World Cup awards?

In addition, silver and bronze boots were awarded to the second and third most prolific goal scorers.

Who are the top scorers at the World Cup in Qatar?

Kylian Mbappe – France: 8 goals
Lionel Messi – Argentina: 7 goals
Olivier Giroud – France: 4 goals
Julian Alvarez – Argentina: 4 goals
Marcus Rashford – England: 3 goals

Golden Boot winners – A look at the storied history

1930: Guillermo Stabile (8 goals)
1934: Oldrich Nejedly (5)
1938: Leonidas da Silva (7)
1950: Ademir de Menezes (9)
1954: Sandor Kocsis (11)
1958: Just Fontaine, France (13)
1962: Florian Albert, Garrincha, Valentin Ivanov, Drazan Jerkovic, Leonel Sanchez and Vava (4)
1966: Eusebio (9)
1970: Gerd Muller (10)
1974: Grzegorz Lato (7)
1978: Mario Kempes (6)
1982: Paolo Rossi (6)
1986: Gary Lineker (6)
1990: Toto Schillaci (6)
1994: Oleg Salenko and Hristo Stoichkov (6)
1998: Davor Suker (6)
2002: Ronaldo (8)
2006: Miroslav Klose (5)
2010: Thomas Muller (5)
2014: James Rodriguez (6)
2018: Harry Kane (6)

In Qatar, Messi was named the best player of the World Cup. In a post-match ceremony, the Argentina great accepted the Golden Ball award while smiling. He shared the Golden Glove award with his teammate Emiliano Martinez, while Argentine midfielder Enzo Fernandez, 21, was selected as the best young player.


Related Posts

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button