The EC announces a byelection on Dec 5 in UP’s Khatauli Assembly seat, counting on Dec 8

According to the Election Commission on Tuesday, a by-election has been scheduled for December 5 for the Khatauli Assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh. Counting votes will take place on December 8, when the results of the Assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat will also be announced.

BJP MLA Vikram Singh Saini was disqualified from holding the Khatauli seat on Monday due to his recent conviction in a case involving the 2013 Muzaffarnagar riots. In the case, a court in Muzaffarnagar sentenced Saini and ten others to two years in prison last month. Among the charges against the accused were rioting, rioting with deadly weapons, and endangering the lives or personal safety of others.

An EC official stated that all vacancies in 2022 have been filled with the announcement of this bypoll schedule. As announced on November 5, by-elections will be conducted in five Assembly constituencies – one in Uttar Pradesh, one in Odisha, one in Rajasthan, one in Bihar, and one in Chhattisgarh, as in the Parliamentary constituency of Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh. As a result of the death of Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav on October 10, the Mainpuri seat became vacant.

Related Posts

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button