The Rajya Sabha chairman has requested that a privilege panel investigate the ‘disorderly conduct’ of 12 Members.

Chairman of the Rajya Sabha Jagdeep Dhankhar has requested that a parliamentary committee probe the alleged breach of privilege by 12 opposition MPs from the Congress and the AAP for continuously entering the well of the House, shouting slogans, and blocking its business.

According to a dispatch from the Rajya Sabha, nine MPs are from the Congress and three are from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The Congress MPs are Shaktisinh Gohil, Naranbhai J Rathwa, Syed Nasir Hussain, Kumar Ketkar, Imran Prattapgarhi, L Hanumanthaiah, Phulo Devi Netam, Jebi Mather Hisham and Ranjeet Ranjan.

The AAP members are Sanjay Singh, Sushil Kumar Gupta and Sandeep Kumar Pathak.

In a bulletin dated February 18, the Rajya Sabha Secretariat stated, “…the Chairman…has referred a question of alleged breach of privilege arising out of gross disorderly conduct displayed by (the MPs)…in violation of rules and etiquette of Rajya Sabha by repeatedly entering the well of the council, shouting slogans, and persistently and willfully obstructing the proceedings of the council, forcing the Chair to repeatedly adjourn the sittings of

During the first portion of the Budget Session, which completed earlier this month, the Rajya Sabha was repeatedly disrupted by opposition MPs’ demonstrations over a variety of concerns.

In a second notice, the Rajya Sabha Secretariat stated, “…members are informed that the Chairman, Rajya Sabha has referred a question of alleged breach of privilege arising out of non-adherence to the Chair’s directions vis-à-vis repeated submission of identical notices under rule 267 by Shri Sanjay Singh, Member, Rajya Sabha, under rule 203 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha)

Related Posts

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button